Macbeth by Shakespeare And Five stitches in my thumb

Hello!

This week I read Macbeth.  I would have had a lot to say about it (and if I could have recorded this as a vocal blog entry, I might have).  However, Tuesday evening around 10:15 (when one’s husband works until 11 p.m., 10:15 can seem like evening), I was preparing dinner.  I was attempting to cut chicken, rubbery raw chicken, which I hate to do.  The knife slipped.  I ended up having to call a friend and get Greg to come home early.  We got everything bandaged up, then Wednesday morning, went to an urgent care place.  It was much cheaper than an emergency room visit at midnight would have been.  Greg and my friend were both shocked to find out it required 5 stitches.  First time in my life to get stitches caused by a use of a kitchen knife.

Because it was my thumb, it has left me with some power to type.  However, since it was my hand, typing is not pleasant. 

Macbeth was listed as a favorite by 4 authors.  Philip Caputo.  Robb Forman Dew.  Ben Marcus.  Stewart O’Nan.

Reading Macbeth was amazing.  I’ve read a lot of Shakespeare but have never read Macbeth.  Loved it.  It’d be a good play for someone who’s never read Shakespeare to begin with, as it is one of the shorter ones.  It takes a few pages to get used to the cadence of Shakespeare and his sentence structure, but it ends up (for me at least) flowing beautifully.

Shakespeare really can make you think.  The plays are over 500 years old, yet much of what they describe still are issues today.  In Macbeth, you have politics, you have betrayal, you have one person (Lady M) egging another on to do something that they want to do but would have probably never acted upon that desire.  You have revenge.  You have wordplay.  The three witches promise things and Macbeth thinks he is safe, yet he changes the laws of nature himself, so why shouldn’t nature change it’s laws on him?  (read it to discover what I talk about).

It seems a straightforward little play, until you begin to think on it, and think of all the subterfuge, the hidden meanings, what Shakespeare used language and how he used language to convey.

I’m going to go take ibuprofen now.  I’ll be back next week, with 24 hours left of stitches in my thumb. 

Have a great week!

One response to “Macbeth by Shakespeare And Five stitches in my thumb

  1. Given what happened with your finger, this quote seems appropriate: “Will all great Neptune’s ocean wash this blood Clean from my hand? No, this my hand will rather The multitudinous seas in incarnadine, Making the green one red.”

Leave a Reply

