1984 By George Orwell

So, I actually did something amazing.  I finished a blog book 3 days BEFORE Thursday.  I was all excited and then realized I had no idea of what to say about the book.  I didn’t have any uniform thought on it that I could write about.  I don’t know if I even have it now.  I read 1984 by George Orwell.  I read it on my Kindle (really on my Kindle app, but you know, semantics) and as such have no quotations from the book for this entry.

Stephen King, David Mitchell, and Ian Rankin all put this in their top ten books. 

It was good.  I am definitely glad I read it.  In fact, I’d rank it amongst the top books I’ve read for the blog.  I’m just going to put this in like a bullet point format, I think.  Basically, sharing the different things I’ve been trying to marshal in my head to write about 1984.

  • At first, I thought that it was a statement/visualizing of what the world would have looked like if Russia had taken the Cold War to a “Hot War” and taken over the world.  (that statement made me just think of Pinky and the Brain).  Then I got to the part where it explains the history/actual workings of the government.
  • I couldn’t figure out where people were getting the comparisons I hear all the time in the common lexicon in regards to the United States government and comparisons to the novel.  I don’t know if half the people making those references have even _read_ 1984.
  • For awhile, I thought it was a love story.  The story is divided into 3 parts.  In the 2nd part, there is a love story.  However, it is just Act Two, and Act Three takes the story and changes it to a story where a love story just plays an overall part in the story.
  • All stories (for those of you that know otherwise, please let me know! I’m going on knowledge that was gained years ago) are one of three things, or more than one.  There’s Man vs Man, Man Vs Self, and Man vs Environment.  I think that this falls squarely into Man vs. Self BUT I can’t decide if the crux of the story is Man Vs. Environment, or Man vs. Man.  I think I know what someone living in the world of 1984 would say.  They would say that the government is stronger than any one individual so it would be Man vs. Environment.  But I don’t know if I agree with that or not.  I’m undecided.
  • I’m geek excited that it was in Stephen King’s Top Ten.
  • I thought that part of the book got too dry.  For those of you that read it, the book for the Brotherhood part was just…blah.
  • Orwell did an amazing job at building the world of 1984.  I almost could taste and feel it all. 
  • It still completely confuses me how many people compare the government to the novel.  Yes, there’s the NSA stuff, blah blah blah.  But I don’t see it.  Yes, you’re no longer allowed to say certain things.  But, beyond those type of considerations there is very little resemblance of today’s society in the society of 1984.
  • I’ve been hearing about this book for years.  It wasn’t quite what I was expecting.  Not sure how to explain what I mean. 

 

There you have it, those were my different thoughts and realizations.  I still couldn’t figure out how to thread it all together into a cogent essay type entry.

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

