The Rainbow by D.H. Lawrence–part 2

So, last week I talked about the first part of The Rainbow. Now I will talk about the 2nd part. I have, in the interim, also finally unpacked all my boxes of books so I am able to tell you who listed The Rainbow in their top ten. Dave is probably thankful for this. Joyce Carol Oates listed it as #4.

My further observations:

1. Our Top Ten book that we use to choose has this to say about The Rainbow. “Declared obscene and banned by British authorities, Lawrence’s novel about three generations of an English family boldly challenged conventional mores by openly depicting emotional and sexual needs. His protagonist, Ursula Brangwen, breaks from family tradition by going off to college and becoming a teacher. (Then there’s a few sentences that give away major plot points, shame on you Top Ten! Shame on you!)…Her search for love is alternately disillusioning and liberating”. I can completely see this being controversial. If it was published today, in 2014, there are groups that would be crying out for it to be banned from impressionable minds and even non impressionable minds.

2. In the middle, the book dragged. But, true to it being open about sexual needs, nothing like a little girl on girl action to pick a plot right up. Seriously, I almost dozed off reading the middle part slightly before the girl on girl action. That is not an exaggeration. I put the book down and took a nap.

3. I think D.H. Lawrence had bad experiences with romance. Every single relationship he spoke of in the book was this weird mixture of love and hate, sexual passion versus basic dislike for the character of the other person.

4. His characters are oddly unlikable, and he makes them that way. All of them have points that he could build up and points he could diminish a bit to make them more likable. He doesn’t. Maybe that almost makes it more real though, more like the people you know and work with or live with.

5. I will not be reading Women in Love, the sequel to The Rainbow for the next blog. I need something a little less dense than Lawrence after this. But, never fear! If I could survive Rabbit Angstrom for 4 novels, I can tell you about Women in Love very soon!

That is all.

Leave a Reply

