The Iliad

I have an admission to make.

I tried again, and again, and again to read The Iliad. And I couldn’t. Years ago I read parts of it here and there. I always found it interesting. I was excited to read it now. Yet, I’d get lost in the rhythm of the poetry and would get sleepy.

I really, really want to be able to read it, because when I was able to get into parts, it was so interesting!

When I was a kid, there was a book of Greek myths I found in the library. It was a kids’ book of myths but they were pretty complex. Just happened to be illustrated too. I absolutely ADORED that book. I’d buy it in a heartbeat if I could ever find it again. (Before anyone asks, I only remember vaguely what it looked like haha).

My favorite myth was the Persephone myth.

So anyway, that was part of the reason reading the Iliad really excited me. And I hate having to sit here and say “whoops, I couldn’t get through it guys, so sorry”, but I have to.

Anna Karenina took me about four times to finally make it through. So, I guess I’ll try the Iliad again in a few months. I’ll make sure to tell y’all what I think if I do get through it finally.

Have a great Fourth everyone! Dave and I will actually be face to face this weekend. He can yell at me then for forgetting the last two times to blog on Thursday. My other big sadness of the week.

*slinks off feeling a little embarrassed*

 

 

Leave a Reply

