Rain Check by Levi Andrew Noe

From time to time, Dave will pass me a book from an author he knows. This time, it was Rain Check, Stories by Levi Andrew Noe.

This book of short stories was different than others that I have read. The main thing, they are all flash fiction. For those of you wondering, “flash fiction? what’s that??” Go here for all the geeky info about it. Basically though, it’s fiction in a very shortened form. Anywhere from a short paragraph to 1000 words usually fits the general definition of flash fiction.

Rain Check is divided into three sections. The first, On Time and Place, the second On Relations and the third On Mind, Body, Heart and Soul.

On Time and Place contains some of the very best travel writing I have ever read. Noe takes you right to the heart of where the story occurs. Whether that’s watching the sunrise over Angkor Wat or hitchhiking on a random highway, Noe puts you in the person and in the setting. If these stories had been around when everyone was praising Eat, Pray, Love to the sky and beyond, I would have shoved them in their face and said “Read these. Then tell me how much you loved Eat, Pray, Love”. In a few short strokes of a story, he takes you somewhere that other authors don’t achieve in 200, 300 or 800 pages.

On Relations, the stories slant towards relationships (of course). One of my favorites in this section is “Writers Make Terrible Partners”. Because, even though I don’t write hardly at all, my brain still works like a writer’s. “The clouds stand poised above us like sumo wrestlers in leotards, bursting at the seams. I chuckle to myself and you ask why, but I can’t just say, “because leotard is a funny word.’ Of course you’d ask me to explain, and then I’d have to retrace the chaotic steps I took in my world of thoughts to come to such a statement. By that time the humor would have been lost, the simple joy of daydreaming would be gone. It just isn’t worth it”. This happens to me a lot with both friends and husband. But, all the stories intertwine in this section to create a collage of relationships of all sorts. Not just love.

The third section, On Mind, Body, Heart and Soul, the tone shifts again, but I have tried and tried to find the words to articulate -how- it changes. I can’t. But I can say that -this- section is my favorite one of all three. The story Rapture made me laugh out loud (which luckily I was by myself so I didn’t have to try to explain it to anyone). My favorite though in this section is The Mind. “I was having brunch with my demons when my Shadow showed up uninvited, turning our pity party into a mid-morning massacre. I would have stayed in my hole wallowing, but then the synaptic mailman came at noon to deliver a letter from Rationality that read: “There are a thousand sides to every story, so please step outside for a minute, or at least open a window.”. It then goes on to him meeting Mercy, Compassion, Pain, Delusion, Oblivion, etc. The personification of these, Noe paints swift and sure with a few words and you see them. “She sent me next door to Pain who was lying on the linoleum, needle in his arm. I had to slap him awake”.

I will admit, I have never been a huge fan of flash fiction. A lot of the ones I’ve read don’t seem to fulfill the job of a story to me. They don’t entertain, they don’t capture the essence of something. Noe’s stories fulfilled all of the normal needs I bring to longer short stories, novellas and novels. I highly recommend this book to anyone. But this would be a great one for those times where you don’t have a ton of time to read but don’t want to just read a chapter in an ongoing book, but would rather have a tale told and over. Pick up Rain Check. Just trust me 😉

 

2 responses to “Rain Check by Levi Andrew Noe

  1. Pingback: ‘Rain Check’ review @ 11 1/2 Years … – Truth Serum Press

  2. Pingback: ‘Rain Check’ review @ ‘Eleven and a Half Years of Books’ – Truth Serum Press

Leave a Reply

